PDA

View Full Version : Electric Dirt Bike Project - First build

ibjed
10 June 2011, 0811
Hello All

Quick introduction: I'm a retired science teacher, now a stay at home dad who got a GREAT deal on a motor a few years ago and has finally started a project that may or may not pan out well, but has been fun so far.

Bike: 2002 YZ426F
Motor: Advanced DC 140-1-4005 series
Controller: axe 4844

Stage 1: (complete) Design a drive train and rolling chassis that accommodates the right side drive of the motor and gives about an 8:1 ratio to give lots of low end and top speed around 45mpg ($450 or so all in)

Stage 2: (complete) With drivetrain in place hook up a battery and ride around to see if drivetrain is realistic and will holdup. Note: power system is as follows-- one used car battery wired to motor through ar starter solenoid off an old chrysler and activated by a momentary button on the handle bar (old kill switch reverse wired) ($20 for msc wire)

Stage 3: (in progress) Find a battery solution that doesn't kill me financially and wire up the controller. ($300 so far for controller)

Goal: To have a fun bike that can roost around my yard. If I can ride for 10 min in the morning before my kids wake up I'd be pretty happy.

Right now with 12 volts the bike has on and off mode and can cruise around the yard at about 10 mph. We have quite a bit of elevation at our house so it can hit 35 on the down hill before I have to make a turn.

No need to comment on the backwoods engineering of my power system and battery "hammock".

Right now my questions will be around battery technology and range (more measured in minutes than miles).

THanks for all the info on the site and in the forums.

anyone give me a quick lesson on attaching a photo and I'll do that soon.

frodus
10 June 2011, 0838
Welcome! post some pictures, definately!

click "go advanced", and go to "manage attachments" at the bottom and upload a pic or two.