PDA

View Full Version : Testing kelly controllers

moon
28 October 2011, 1925
I'm trying to confirm the status of a Kelly KDH07601A 72V controller, and I'm having trouble fining a way to make a satisfactory go/no go test without wiring the entire system up and turning on the juice.
I've tried putting 12.4V to connector J2 pins 1 & 2 and get a big fat nothing from the controller and green LED. I can get the green LED to light by putting power to J1 pin 5 and GND but this is just lighting the LED, correct?

Any other tips or ideas are appreciated.

DaveAK
28 October 2011, 2038
At a minimum I would suggest hooking up B+ and B- to whatever minimum pack voltage is for that particular controller.

moon
29 October 2011, 0849
I can rig something up and test pack voltage. Forgive my ignorance, this is my first experience with controllers, what should happen when pack voltage is connected?

DaveAK
29 October 2011, 1033
Well I have no experience with Kelly controllers, but I'm thinking that it might just not turn on if it doesn't sense pack voltage. I could be wrong. With my Sevcon I can test the controller and program it, but I've always connected a dummy pack, (I just used a bench top power supply). Then I just need to energize the 'on' pin and it powers up. I must admit that I probably could do it with just the on pin and ground as the Sevcon controls the contactor, and so battery pack is disconnected at first. I don't know how the Kelly operates though, so if it were me testing I would at least try a dummy pack.

teddillard
29 October 2011, 1059
The Kelly support page is here with the manuals and wiring diagrams.
http://kellycontroller.com/support.php

The direct link to your manual is here:
http://tinyurl.com/3zsdnes

Everything you need is there, from what I saw.

moon
29 October 2011, 1231
Thanks for the links Ted, the manual is where I was getting myself confused last night (note to self: a few beers does *not* help electronics diagnosis :) )