PDA

View Full Version : Honda CB1100 X11 conversion

teet
07 November 2011, 0851
Hello everyone,

After many years of dreaming about building some EV and even buying my current car (http://www.titusverbeek.nl/a2foto1.jpg) with this purpose in mind I just started with a project a little 'easier' than that and bought a crashed Honda CB1100 X11. I want to turn it into an EV, therefore doing a lot of reading and researching about which parts to use and how to use them. It seems this forum is the place to be to meet other people facing or having faced the same issues that I will, even though I live in Europe, The Netherlands.

I have started a website (http://www.bagdesign.nl/titusverbeek-projects/Project_X11_EV.html) about this project with some pictures and explanations. (written in Dutch, be warned)

Components:
With the motorway in mind (120 km/h or 74 miles/h) regenerative braking, and my limited tooling/electronic skills (I am just a product designer) it seems wise for me to buy a kit which is tested and programmed rather then to buy separate components from various suppliers. Judging the EV's I have seen so far I think that brushless engines sound nicer than brushed ones, please correct me if I'm wrong. Besides that they don't need any maintenance. Therefore, the kit I have in mind is based on a 12 kW (23 kW peak) brushless DC motor running at 48V (http://www.electricmotorsport.com/store/ems_ev_parts_kits_pmac_ds-gen4-48-450.php). A cheaper alternative would be: 6 Hp (19 Hp peak) brushless DC motor running at 72V (http://www.electricmotorsport.com/store/ems_ev_parts_kits_pmac-ss.php). Your opinion about which one to use or if you know another place to get good kits is appreciated.

To be continued...

Bye,
Teet

p.s. EDIT: corrected link to 'cheaper alternative'

Skeezmour
07 November 2011, 1021