PDA

View Full Version : Lipo discharge and V = SOC?

podolefsky
29 November 2011, 2058
[I posted this on Endless Sphere as well...just to get ideas from multiple sources...]

I've believed for a while that voltage is not a good predictor of SOC. I know this is generally true with lifepo4, but wasn't sure about lipo. Some folks on ES were saying you could use voltage to determine SOC if you had a look up table. I'm not an expert on lipo, so I'm posting this to see if my thinking is right (or if what missing, because I'm probably missing a lot...)

So I took a Turnigy 20C, 2S, 5.0 Ah pack and did two discharges. First was ~0.6C, the other at 6C. At certain points during the discharge, I removed the load and let the voltage rise for 1 minute and recorded the value. All this is shown in the graph below.

Here's what I see. Discharging at 0.6C, removing the load makes the voltage pop up, but it pops up about the same amount each time (red squares). So looks like this should let you use voltage for SOC (if you have a 0.6C curve to compare).

Discharging at 6C, you get the same behavior but the voltage jump is a lot larger (blue squares). What's interesting here is that the blue squares don't match up with the red squares. If you had the 0.6C curve, but were running at 6C, you would predict a SOC that is about 0.7 Ah too low. That is, you actually have more Ah left than you would predict. (The dashed lines show where the blue lines up with red for voltage, and then the Ah you would predict).

Now, if you had the 6C curve, you would predict the correct SOC. But in the real world, you never go along at constant C-rate. I don't actually know what happens in that case - I need to do something like pull 6C, then switch to 0.6C or 2C, then go back to 6C and see what happens to voltage.

If someone's already done this, I'd love to see it so I don't have to spend more time testing.

http://www.colorado.edu/physics/EducationIssues/podolefsky/EV_project/lipo_discharge.png

lugnut