PDA

View Full Version : Radiator Sizing

Nuts & Volts
31 May 2012, 1532
Hello guys,

So I am trying to size a radiator for liquid cooling a motor and a controller. I haven't taken my Heat Transfer class yet (im studying Mechanical Engineering right now) so I'm not entirely sure how to do the analysis. I have an idea, but don't quite know the process. I am starting to collect relevant numbers for the calculations (specific heats, temperature estimates, flow rates, and heat rejected). But I need some help with this. Can anyone link me to a good book or webpage that I can read through? OR if you want to run through my calculations with me let me know?

My specific heats are 1.005 for air, 2.35 for opticool, and 3.55 for 50/50 glycol water mix. Two different radiators will be used for the motor and controller. I am assuming a peak heat for the motor circuit to be around 15-20kW and my controller to be around 3-5kW. This gives me a small margin because they won't be run at peak at all times and the efficiency will change over time. I was going to assume an air in temp of 30C and something like 90C coolant in and 50C coolant of radiator. I'm not sure what to guess for air temp out of radiator. Flow rate for controller and controller will be ~8L/min to start with.

Do my assumptions seem reasonable? Any suggestions?

I will update this weekend when I do more research
Thanks
Kyle

Allen_okc
01 June 2012, 0530
curious, what kind of water pump will you be using to circulate the anti freeze???

do you need separate radiators for the motor and controller, i would think that one radiator will be sufficient for the both???

and will you need a fan for the air flow???

:cool: please keep us informed when you start building the system...

Richard230
01 June 2012, 0650