PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle Safety: Sitting Down Now

teddillard
02 October 2013, 0416
OK, I'm done.

I have a teenager, I know all about leading horses to water and subsequent drinking or not.

We have several experienced riders I'd love to hear weigh in on this, but for my part I feel like I've heard it all. I've seen kids who are self taught, from really talented riders who are natural athletes, to guys who are never going to get past "squid" stage, no matter what they do. I've seen teens go out and buy bikes that are way too fast, way too big, and way too much under the influence of testosterone and other mind-altering chemistry to have even a swinging chance of not turning their brains and bodies to mush.

I've seen young adults decide that they can take their few thousand dollars and go buy this slick little toy and have some fun, only to end up in the emergency room. I've heard countless... COUNTLESS adults say things like, I've been riding for a few years, I know how to ride, I did everything right, it was a freak accident, stuff like that, as a rationalization for not getting training. If you did everything right, you wouldn't have had a problem. If you don't know what you did wrong, then you need help. The thing I hear most often that really sets me off is, "It's not a question of if you lay it down, it's when."

Think whatever you want. That's absolute bull****. However, if you don't learn how to ride well, then yeah, it's self-fulfilling.

I've seen a few guys here, on ElMoto, who's first motorcycle was the bike they built, and they've all laid the bikes down. One, in particular, a couple of times, and thankfully with no lasting injuries. We're some pretty bright guys here on this forum. I can't even think about how I'd feel if somebody's brain got turned to mush because they didn't think they needed a class. Oh wait. We had that too. If you were on ElMoto v1 you know all about it.