PDA

View Full Version : Long-time biker, first-time electric biker

TimothyNZ
15 November 2014, 1506
Hi all,

I've been riding motorcycles for over 40 years and I've owned about 30 of the petrol-powered variety. I still own a 2014 Triumph Scrambler, a 2006 Aprilia RS125 and a 2003 Aprilia RS50. I've been interested in electric motorbikes for a couple of years now, though I've never actually ridden one.

For the last 10 years I've been involved in racing small capacity (50cc to 150cc) motorcycles at an outdoor kart track in Auckland, New Zealand. We call it Miniature Road Racing or, less formally, bucket racing. For a while, I've been drawn to the idea of racing an electric bucket. So often our sport is restricted due to the noise we make and electric power seemed like a brilliant solution. Our bikes typically never exceed about 100km/h and a 12-lap race usually lasts about 6 minutes. However, on the down side, bucket racers need to be light, are generally cheap and there is currently no class for electric bucket racers. So the idea has simmered away in my mind for a while without actually getting anywhere.