PDA

View Full Version : Hello from JHB, South Africa

kingr
09 July 2015, 1152
Hello. My name is kingr all the way from Johannesburg, South Africa. I'm a Capetonian, just living in Joburg at the moment.

I've purchased a 2007 Hyosung GT250R as a donor for my ev conversion. My goal with this project is to gain experience in various aspects of automotive engineering. I'm very passionate about technology, cars/bikes & software development. I work professionally as a software developer, I have experience building ice drag cars & play around with hobby electronics in my spare time.

Goals/Details

Motor: Either Agni95r/me1003
Controller: Will depend on the motor setup I go with
Batteries: Not sure
System Voltage: 72v/96v
Charger: Not sure
DC/DC Converter: Not sure
Instrumentation: A web browser running a touch screen. A Raspberry Pi will drive the screen and consume all the data from an Arduino(middleware). Data coming from the arduino will be all the vitals(soc, amps, range, indicators) you need to know & will be displayed in a rich UI. I will use a Node.js server to send data via Socket.io to the touch screen(browser). I will use Angular.js for the UI, Html5 & CSS3 for the animation of the gauges. For the UI I'm getting inspiration from all my favorite cars like the m3, Lamborghini & Pagani. I still need to design the interface.

Top Speed: 120 kph and up is desired

Additional Features: I plan to create a keyless start system. I plan to install a solenoid to to open the boot keylessly. I plan to create different riding modes(if
the controller allows). I have a long wish-list of nice to have's, but will be happy if I can get just get the bike riding.

The donor
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e149/72kf/2A4255CE-32F4-4D63-9C9C-E7B3D86ECA60_zpsczea2h04.jpg (http://s38.photobucket.com/user/72kf/media/2A4255CE-32F4-4D63-9C9C-E7B3D86ECA60_zpsczea2h04.jpg.html)

tylerwatts
10 July 2015, 1237
Howzit bru. I'm new round here too. Looks like a good start for your conversion.