PDA

View Full Version : Juice Cafe - Time to trim the fat....or do we?

EVcycle
08 January 2011, 1355
Here is one for the Structural engineers...and everyone else too!

The frame looks to be extremely over engineered for this application.

The 250+ lb motor, 10 Lb Tank,etc is now being replaced by 100 Lbs of battery and motor.

Would it be that much of a stress issue if I removed the areas cut by the pretty purple lines? Most every motorcycle (cruiser) I have used including the Orange Juiced bike has a single
pipe down the center and not nearly the front support like this one has on the front.

http://www.elmoto.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=717&d=1294519332

http://www.elmoto.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=719&d=1294519335

http://www.elmoto.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=720&d=1294519337

http://www.elmoto.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=721&d=1294520023

teddillard
08 January 2011, 1401
Well, you know I'm no engineer, but I think you have to ask just how much weight you're trimming. If you're just removing two sections of tubing, about 24", of what looks like 1 1/2" steel, well, what does that weigh? Maybe 5lbs, I'm guessing? For that, I'm not sure it's worth it, from a weight standpoint. Maybe it's worth it from a space-to-fit-batteries perspective... From an aesthetic standpoint, well, that's another matter entirely. :D

EVcycle
08 January 2011, 1412
Hey Ted.

It is entirely for the space-to-fit-batteries perspective. It will not be seen as the Fiberglass tank/cover will hide it all.

:)

DaveAK
08 January 2011, 1602
If I were to do something like that I'd probably look at extra gusseting where the center tube meets the two outer tubes. I'd also feel that the diameter of the center tube might not be sufficient on it's own, and so maybe weld some angle top (and bottom if space allows).

Now I'm no engineer, so this is nothing more than gut feeling. And that feeling could actually be gas.

EVcycle
08 January 2011, 1624
Hey Dave,