PDA

View Full Version : HELP! - Talk for "engineering and society" class

podolefsky
17 February 2011, 1922
My dream of using my bike as a way to get people excited about EVs is starting to come true. An engineering prof at the University of Colorado heard about my electric motorcycle and wants me to come give talks to his classes. The class is "Engineering and Society", and it is for engineers but focuses on societal impacts, environment, stuff like that.

Sooooo...I'm just opening up a thread for ideas about what I should say. I'm a physicist with about one hour to impress a bunch of engineers...I need help...

I'm also getting attention from high schools and other places that would like me to ride up on my bike and talk to kids about EVs...

Here are some of the questions the prof had for me to think about for my talk, maybe you all could help me think about how to answer them:

(He said he'd chime in on the first five as well)

>What are the main environmental advantages of electric vehicles?

>How significant are the main environmental problems that come with electric vehicles? (e.g., CO2 from electric power plants, battery disposal)

>What are the main engineering challenges to building functional electric vehicles?

>What are the main challenges to making them commercially viable?

>Are batteries likely to improve significantly in quality and affordability?

>What are the main challenges you faced in making your motorcycle?

>In what major ways do different kinds of electric motors and batteries differ from one another?

>How did you choose what kind of battery and motor to use?

>Might a bike like yours be commercially viable?

>How does its performance compare with a gasoline-powered bike?

>How does its handling compare? (Does different weight and location of the weight of your motor and battery affect handling?) Have you noticed any unexpected benefits or disadvantages to have come along with your motorcycle (like no hot engine between your legs)?