PDA

View Full Version : Who wants a car anyway ?

fixitsan
28 February 2011, 1341
Who wants a car anyway ?

Hello folks.
I've been slowly (snail's pace in fact) bring things together to make an electric car. I have a Reliant Scimitar with a fantastic chassis and fibreglass body. I have an old AEI 15kW motor and a pile of good lead acid batteries.

To go from there to a working machine is going to take a lot more money, money that the recession stole from me, so I'm going to sell it and I was planning to rebuild my old 1981 Kawa Kz550LTD custom this year so the car is going and the bike is in ! I hope I can afford some decent cells with the money I make on the car!

For a living I'm a site service engineer, looking after one of the fastest inkjet printers in the world (2000 sheets per minute full colour) and that keeps me busy, and the bike would be good recreation.

Watch this space, but like, not every single day......

Chris

EDIT : Forgot to mention that I'm also working on a cell voltage monitor system. Currently located on the Yahoogroups site
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/CellMonitor/?yguid=314528416

teddillard
28 February 2011, 1358
...fastest inkjet printers in the world (2000 sheets per minute full colour

wait... WHAT?? :D

fixitsan
28 February 2011, 1402
wait... WHAT?? :D

Yeah, please don't ask for a free print run though ;)

teddillard
28 February 2011, 1423
I want NAMES! Models! Specs!

...oh, and welcome to the group. :D

fixitsan
28 February 2011, 1443
Lol okay.
This is the baby of the family, prints at 75metres/minute at widths upto 500mm, both sides at once
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ocrJtfWINY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ocrJtfWINY

I'm currently installing one of the faster machines nearby which requires two print engines and runs at 150m/minute
It uses 80 printheads 10 for each of 4 colours on each side)
Each printhead, made by Kyocera, costs 8000
Weighs about 15 tons
Runs with 14 HP servers and 16 HP 'blades'