Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1994 Suzuki RF600 Senior Design project Leaf conversion

Post Thanks / Like

1994 Suzuki RF600 Senior Design project Leaf conversion

Hello all,

I've been trying (and failing) for a few months to sign up for Elmoto. I guess I kept missing either the registration email link or the need to post within a week, but whatever it was now I'm here.

I'm a senior in undergraduate mechanical engineering at a state school in New York, and have been interested in EV's and particularly electric motorcycles since I started riding 5 years ago. I've done plenty of work on my current rides: a suzuki DR650 with scads of fun modifications, and a '94 klx250 that I converted to a dualsport through the vermont titling loophole. I'm now working on converting a 1994 RF600 as a senior design project for school.

Two friends in electrical engineering are working on the display, motor controller and BMS design and my focus is on the battery packaging and layout of the components as well as sizing the motor. I'm a bit wary of a homebuilt controller, but have confidence in my teammates abilities and have a backup plan of finding a used alltrax controller if all doesn't go well. The criteria for the project is a range of about 50 miles with a top speed capable of 65mph and decent acceleration. We've decided to go with a brushed DC motor for a simpler motor controller build and a pack size of 12-14 Nissan leaf modules to hopefully get the range we're looking for. I'm not entirely fluent in the battery management system my teammate has come up with, but from what I understand it's a master-slave arrangement with the slave board capable of handling 12 cells each with top balancing (not modules, he'll have to use the sense terminals of the leaf batteries because the boards are limited to 5V inputs). He's basing his motor controller design off of Electric Motovlog's build on youtube and I'm hoping it works out.