Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  4
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 78 Honda CB550

Post Thanks / Like

78 Honda CB550

So here is the project bike. image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

So here is what i am aiming fir with this conversion, and feel free to comment on if i'm nuts or if it doable.
    1) range 50miles
    2) wall charger with 8 hour or less charging time
    3) $3000 max for electrical components (or less)
    4) cafe racer style
    5) Reliability and ease of maintenance

So thats what i want at the end. I am currently in the process of buying a house and within the next two months will have a place where i can work on it. I am in Ny so i have quite a bit of time before i can even test ride anything. Im in the info gathering stage and willing to take any info someone is willing to give. I am open to lipo technology. I am a automotive technician and i am very had with fabrication. I will be moving only minutes from a scrap yard so i would like to make as much as possible. So what i am looking to get through this web site would be the components required. I know some of the basics but not the specifics of wiring and battery maintenance.

So what are the suggestions for the electrical gear?
    Thanks for you input, adam.

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the group.

$3000 may be doable if you do the work yourself and purchase some of the parts used. I recommend new batteries and trusted sources for used parts.

There are a few here that have built projects using a similar frame. We built one of these a few years ago so as well.

You will get different opinions on motors as folks have their favorite type. For your budget the Motenergy line would be one to look at.

Do your research and ask questions. Lots of educated folks here.

Ed
    Last edited by EVcycle; 18 October 2013 at 0134.
    EV Ed
    Never let being a responsible adult get in the way of passion and curiosity.
    Motenergy.com
    Ev album 2456, 2458, 2457, 2681, 3456, 3630