Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  8
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 70

Thread: Kawasaki ZX-6R Conversion - "Cholocycle"

              
   
   
  1. #51
    Member robermelendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Menlo Park CA
    Posts
    66
    Post Thanks / Like
    here is another update!


  2. #52
    Member robermelendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Menlo Park CA
    Posts
    66
    Post Thanks / Like

  3. Likes ElMotoMike liked this post
  4. #53
    Empulse R #24 frodus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,668
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Follow frodus On Twitter
    Nice work! That fuse sure blew didn't it!

    I'd suggest getting a better fuse, something like this:
    http://www.discountfuse.com/Ferraz_S...Fuses_s/33.htm

    Those CNN and ANN fuses (or what looks like the audio system fuse in the pic) are rated to 80V. Past that they can fail.... spectacularly to say the least. Get a 200 or 250A fuse and you should be good. They're slow blow, so look at the datasheet. They can do 600A for a short period without blowing, so only get what you need.
    Travis

  5. #54
    Seņor Member podolefsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    3,890
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by DRZ400 View Post
    Hey Noah, did you change to the AC20? If so are you still using the GB60 AH's? Just wondering how the AC motor compared to the Series motor you had? I'm looking to upgrade my bike. Likely keep the Agni but get 25 of the new Calb FI60 cells. My SE40's can only supply about 260 amps....so I thing they are my weak link. Plus my range is about 32 miles. Going with the 60's should reduce sag and extend my range.
    Yup, AC20 and GBS 60Ah cells, 24s. The AC20 is great, worlds better than my series motor. Not quite a fair comparison because it's a 650A controller vs 450A I had with my series. Still, the whole package was a significant upgrade. With a higher voltage pack it would be even better.
    - Noah Podolefsky -
    The GSX-E

  6. #55
    Seņor Member podolefsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    3,890
    Post Thanks / Like
    Awesome work. I'm really impressed that you were able to get the AC20 working with the Sevcon.

    I agree with Travis on the fuse. At the very least, you need one rated for more than 100A. 80V ANN/CNN should be OK with a 72V pack, but higher voltage rating would be better.

    With 15Ah of LiFePO4, you shouldn't be pulling more than 150A though, and not for more than a few seconds. So make sure the controller current limit is turned down, and I'd say don't go over 45A continuous. The fuse is there to protect your pack, and in this case it may have done it's job. That motor/controller can easily pull enough amps to kill your cells if not kept in check.
    - Noah Podolefsky -
    The GSX-E

  7. #56
    Member robermelendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Menlo Park CA
    Posts
    66
    Post Thanks / Like
    That fuse blew when I was testing with an A123 prismatic Pack 23s3p so those can definitely do more than 45A continuos :P The 1kWh pack that is on the bike has a 50A breaker and I haven't blown it after riding down the street a couple of times. The fuse blowing was during the autotune routine.

    That fuse was a low voltage fuse and yeah it blew pretty espectacularly, the sevcon espAC actually has an appropiate fuse with it.

    I'm waiting for a Sevcon size 6 or 4 so I can put more batteries in my baby . While I wait for that I am trying to fix all the "road worthy" things (lights, speedometer) so I can register over the summer.

  8. #57
    Member robermelendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Menlo Park CA
    Posts
    66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Small update regarding some auxiliary systems I have been playing around with. I am old school and prefer analog meters so I am devoting time into making the most with the bike gauge cluster I have to show speed, current, temp and "fuel".


    http://rjmelendez.blogspot.com/2014/...r-road-p1.html

  9. #58
    Member robermelendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Menlo Park CA
    Posts
    66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi everyone!

    I made some performance estimates of cholobike.

    Check em out here:

    http://rjmelendez.blogspot.com/2014/...estimates.html

    Here is a summary:

    96mph top speed
    0-60mph in 4 seconds
    50+ mile in city and less than 40 highway

    This is assuming the following:
    AC-20 Motor
    Sevcon Gen 4 Size 6, 650Amp Limit
    85V nominal pack voltage (A123 prismatic 26s3p)
    5.3kWh
    60 tooth in rear / 12 tooth front sprocket

    Please let me know if this sounds reasonable or not!

  10. #59
    Electric Warrior CaptainKlapton's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Memphis TN
    Posts
    105
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Add CaptainKlapton on Google+
    I'd say that is reasonable. I have made a similar program in Octave and that is close to the 0-60 time I was getting with a 5:1 ratio. Only thing that seemed a little off to me was the assumption of 90% total drive efficiency. I have been using 84% (86% for the motor-controller and 98% for the chain drive) but I doubt your A123 pack will sag as quite much as the HPEVS one so that may have made up for it.
    Nice work!
    "Never let schooling interfere with your education."
    -Mark Twain

  11. #60
    Senior Member EV_Scoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    205
    Post Thanks / Like
    You sure that's miles per hour?

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •