Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  1
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Dealing With How To Turn on Your Bike

              
   
   
  1. #11
    Senior Member Stevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Behind the Redwood Curtain- REDWOOD ORIGINAL!!
    Posts
    502
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you use LED's for all of your lights, you'll use less than 100 watts.
    Current rides: '96 Honda Ohlins VFR, '03 Cannondale C440R, '03 Cannondale Cannibal, '06 Yamaha 450 Wolverine 4x4
    Current builds: http://elmoto.net/showthread.php?t=4354

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevo View Post
    If you use LED's for all of your lights, you'll use less than 100 watts.
    hmmm, we will have the usual headlights and turn signals, we will also have a charger for the tablet display, pump for liquid cooling, arduino, orion BMS (250mA), 2 motor controllers

  3. #13
    Senior Member Stevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Behind the Redwood Curtain- REDWOOD ORIGINAL!!
    Posts
    502
    Post Thanks / Like
    Check these out... they will help considerably: Led Headlight Kit at Cycle Gear

    Only 24 watts compared to 55-60 watts halogen
    Last edited by Stevo; 04 February 2015 at 1101.
    Current rides: '96 Honda Ohlins VFR, '03 Cannondale C440R, '03 Cannondale Cannibal, '06 Yamaha 450 Wolverine 4x4
    Current builds: http://elmoto.net/showthread.php?t=4354

  4. Likes theFREElaker liked this post
  5. #14
    Empulse R #24 frodus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,496
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Follow frodus On Twitter
    What's your budget and a guesstimate of all loads? (if you could, look up all the data sheets for your equipment.... I unfortunately won't have time the next few days).

  6. #15
    Senior Member Stevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Behind the Redwood Curtain- REDWOOD ORIGINAL!!
    Posts
    502
    Post Thanks / Like
    Frodus, it appears your website needs some work.. there are no products when I click on any of the product links. Don't take that observation in a bad way, just that, an observation.
    Having built a website myself, I know how time consuming these things are. Then keeping it up-to-date is a full time job in itself. How much on-line business does it generate?
    Current rides: '96 Honda Ohlins VFR, '03 Cannondale C440R, '03 Cannondale Cannibal, '06 Yamaha 450 Wolverine 4x4
    Current builds: http://elmoto.net/showthread.php?t=4354

  7. #16
    Empulse R #24 frodus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,496
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Follow frodus On Twitter
    Yeah, I intended on having a full eCommerce website, but sales have slowed the last few years for the DIY market. I haven't added anything because it ended up that most people want very specific quotes. Best to email me and ask... E-commerce software that is freely available isn't really meant for a quote based system and drop shipping.

    But I did just update the website to make it more simple with just an About me and Contact. Thanks though.
    Last edited by frodus; 04 February 2015 at 1437.

  8. #17
    Seņor Member podolefsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    3,890
    Post Thanks / Like
    I use a Vicor DC/DC converter. It has an enable/disable pin. Floating is on, connected to ground turns the unit off. It's normally always on. I have my stock key switch wired so that in "park" it disables the DC/DC converter.
    - Noah Podolefsky -
    The GSX-E

  9. #18
    Empulse R #24 frodus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,496
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Follow frodus On Twitter
    +1 on vicor. They sometimes need external components like a cap or trim resistor, but they're pretty solid.

  10. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Edmonds, WA
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have the same setup as Noah. I bought a different DCC first (still have it sitting) and then bought the Vicor which floats or pulls down so I could use my stock ignition switch. My homemade BMS AFE is powered straight off the pack and uses less than self discharge rates, always powered.

  11. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by podolefsky View Post
    I use a Vicor DC/DC converter. It has an enable/disable pin. Floating is on, connected to ground turns the unit off. It's normally always on. I have my stock key switch wired so that in "park" it disables the DC/DC converter.
    So I assume its got a tiny battery inside or some kind of stored angry to use as a signal when that pin is grounded?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •