Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32

Thread: Arduino Vehicle Controls / BMS Thread

              
   
   
  1. #21
    Senior Member tomdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by kingr View Post
    tomdb, are you implenting the teensy on your bike?

    What time of hacking do you do?
    The teensy will be for experimentation. But can have many applications ranging from controller to something as simple as CAN bus controller for the display.

    Second question, what do you mean by this?

    Currently my main project is an BMS slave board with an atmega and canbus.

  2. Likes Athlon liked this post
  3. #22
    Empulse R #24 frodus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,468
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Follow frodus On Twitter
    Quote Originally Posted by kingr View Post
    Sounds like a shield you describing.
    No. It's an embedded artists lpc4088 display module board. Mbed enabled.

    http://www.embeddedartists.com/produ...ules/43rtp.php

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

  4. #23
    I should be working! furyphoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Harrop, BC, Canada
    Posts
    312
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Add furyphoto on Facebook
    I had promised to share my work on my 12v control system, I started a new topic to keep from confusing topics and projects.

    Please check it out HERE if you are interested!
    -Andrew

    http://www.andrewdoran.com
    mail(at)andrewdoran.com

    My ElMoto Project "Electric Hurricane" - 1987 Honda CBR600 F1: Check out my Build ALBUM
    My ICE Cafe Racer Project "My Precious" - 1983 Honda CM400 Classic

  5. #24
    Senior Member tomdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Currently nearing completion of my board design for an "arduino" based bms.
    It will be programmed via arduino, because why not and all the libraries for arduino are extensive.

    Currently testing the LTC6804 with arduino interface, so far it works and spews the data on the serial port.
    Working on assembling a test board for my isolated can implementation. Pcb are made and ready for soldering.

    Schematic is attached, almost 100% complete, i am just missing the correct connectors for the canbus/12volt in, cellmonitoring and balancing board.

    DSC_0113.jpg

    layout 1.jpg
    Last edited by tomdb; 07 August 2015 at 1315.

  6. #25
    I should be working! furyphoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Harrop, BC, Canada
    Posts
    312
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking

    Add furyphoto on Facebook
    I'm interested to see where you end up with this, I had a look at the Linear chips too because they have arduino libraries, but I chickened out thinking they were above my arduino knowledge level.

    I am just about to order 22 ATTiny's and some Optocouplers to run a separate voltmeter on each cell, reporting back to an arduino master control probably via a multiplexer. Parts are cheap, and the code is pretty easy too, but it's definitely more clunky than the Linear chip option.
    -Andrew

    http://www.andrewdoran.com
    mail(at)andrewdoran.com

    My ElMoto Project "Electric Hurricane" - 1987 Honda CBR600 F1: Check out my Build ALBUM
    My ICE Cafe Racer Project "My Precious" - 1983 Honda CM400 Classic

  7. #26
    Senior Member tomdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like
    People always get scared of code. I see absolutely no reason to be. Got it running purely using their own library and code, all be it tweaked slightly.

  8. #27
    Senior Member tomdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Almost done with my board layout, a little more testing with my trial parts and breadboard.

    Hope to order the pcb's within a week.

    layout 1 brd.jpg

  9. #28
    Senior Member tomdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Had my idiot moment this weekend. I designed some opto isolated canbus boards for any micro controller. Currently running them with arduino's, I also do not have an usb to can device yet or any other working can device.
    I was populating my smd design and noticed i was missing the correct opto couplers (got the wrong size). So i just bridged them, not realizing that on one board I had already mounted my pull up resistors.
    So all of sunday trouble shooting without success, today I did some more testing and measurements (blew up my old oscilloscope in the process, not due to my measuring but some voltage spike on the input). Turns out the transciever mpc2515 does not like pull up resistors on the comm lines to the transceiver. Removed them and got it running, so now on to build my BMS board on the breadboard tomorrow for some code creating. Also now Im confident the things work time to finish the PCB.

    DSC_0132.jpg

  10. #29
    Senior Member tomdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Not directly related to Arduino. However the spotwelder I built, contains an arduino micro and arduino code.
    My second arduino project which got built into a usable machine (plug in the wall and go).

    Built from an old stickwelder, rewound the transformer and built electrode holders. Need to get a footpedal sorted.
    The preweld is configurable in ms as is the pause and main weld, the current gets limited by a transformer shunt. These variables can be stored in eprom once dailed in.

    I attached the schematic and picture of finished product and first test welds after dialing in.

    Planning on designing a 12S module based on 18650 cells, can you guess why.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #30
    Senior Member Athlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like

    My Social Networking


    Add Athlon on Linkedin
    I see 12S , do you know if there is also a 14s option for the chip

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •