Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How much LifePO4 battery and What would be the range for AC-23

Post Thanks / Like

How much LifePO4 battery and What would be the range for AC-23

Hi All,

I am building a cruiser motorcycle as a prototype. I am using the AC-23 Motor by HPEVS and HPEVS Curtis Controller 1238-7601.

I was looking at a lifepo4 4S2P battery with 8400mah and rated at 30C and 40C pulse. now the battery is $78. I was wondering if i need to get enough battery to get 100Ah and 96V to run the motor. That would cost me about 6K+ just for the batteries alone and i dont know what the range would be. I am not an electrical engineer so I an not able to calculate the approx range and current drive from the motor on average cruising mode (considering 3000 - 4000 RPM).

What battery configuration / size would you guys recommend? Any help would be appreciated.

-Milton
    Last edited by milton; 06 February 2016 at 1159.

Post Thanks / Like
    Some numbers from my build to help you:
    AC-20
    1238-7601
    26 Leaf packs, paralleled 2 by 2, I run at about 96 V
    6.2 to 1 ratio for my belt
    Bike plus driver is around 355 kgs
    I get 150 km range not running too aggressively below 80 km/h
    Regards from Switzerland
    My 2.5 Upgrade Thread

Post Thanks / Like
    If I was starting today I would choose Leaf modules over the LiFePO4 cells I have now, saving money, weight and space. Thinking about converting but still have too much life in these to justify it.

Post Thanks / Like
    What about these once?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/201343463821...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

The reason i would lean on a lifePo4 cell is cause of the stability, safety, longer shelf life and longer charge cycle. Well the only difference between lifePo4 and Li-ion is the charge cycle. LifeP04 is 2000 cycle while Li-ion is 1000 cycles if i have read correctly.