Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: motorcycle vs battery form factor issues

Post Thanks / Like

motorcycle vs battery form factor issues

Bear with me here, I'm new to this. But I just finished reading Toll's "DIY Lithium Batteries" book (which seemed well worth the purchase price) and I've spent some hours here and at the other two big ev forums reading about batteries/projects and I've got a couple of questions for which I've not seen answers.

Motorcycles lean, and they need ground clearance when they do that. A lot of potential "vehicle quality" battery choices don't look very good for fitting into a leaning vehicle.

There seem to be two main choices on e-moto batteries -- prismatic/boxy units like the Leaf/Volt/Bolt/BMW I3 etc automotive batteries and the cylindrical batteries (18650, 38120. 40152).

The Leaf looks attractive on performance/ruggedness/availability/price but it and the other's like it are roughly a foot square on height and width which means they've got to be raised higher off the ground to stay in the ground clearance/lean boundaries I want to use (50 degrees at full suspension compression). I've not seen anything comparable that might be closer to 4-6" square allowing more of them to be packed into a not-rectangular space. The Samsung cell in the BMW is smaller at about 5" x 7" but it seems to only be offered commercially in DIY quantities at a very high price. The Tesla packs appear to need liquid cooling and I want to avoid that.

Cylindrical batteries give a lot more options for fitting into the required vehicle shape than the large automotive batteries. The 18650 cylinders are probably ruled out because the ones I've seen being used need connectors spot welded to them, as well as needing around a thousand or more of the small cells.