Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Motenergy ME1302

Post Thanks / Like

Motenergy ME1302

Hey everybody,

My name is JD and I am new to electric motorcycles and electric motors in general really haha. I have a KX65 collecting dust in my garage and would like to do an electric conversion to it and use it mainly as a after hours pit bike on my backyard track. I have seen a couple mini-bike conversions using modded oset motors etc. but I want the bike to have power equal to around 20hp +/- and was told a water cooled brushless motor would be my best bet. I have been looking at this ME1302 model and was wondering if it would be total overkill or a good option for my project. here is the description from the web store:

Designed for long life. No brush maintenance. The motor is 92% efficient at voltages between 24 to 96 VDC. Continuous current of 125 amps AC (180 Amps DC into the motor control). This is a 3-phase, Y-connected Permanent Magnet Synchronous Motor with an axial air gap. It has two stators with a rotor in the center.

1) This is a 4 pole motor (8 magnets). 2) The Phase to Phase winding resistance is 0.013 Ohms. 3) The maximum recommended rotor speed is 5000 RPM. 4) Voltages from 0 to 96 VDC input to the control. 5) Torque constant of 0.15 Nm per Amp 6) The Inductance Phase to Phase is 0.10 Milli-Henry with 28 turns per phase. 7) Armature Inertia is 45 Kg Cm Squared. 8) Peak current of 420 Amps AC for 1 minute (600 Amps DC into the motor control). 9) Weight of 35 pounds. 10) Peak Stall Torque of 60 FtLb.

Most of this might as well been chinese as far as my understanding goes but i've ordered a couple books on electric motors and electric vehicle conversions to hopefully change that but what i did see was a peak stall torque rating of 60 ft/lbs and that seemed like wayyyyyy to much for a pit bike. Can you adjust power delivery with a controller and battery set up or am I on the wrong track with a motor like this?

Any advice is greatly appreciated,

JD