Power in Flux
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: 1970 Honda CT90 Electric Conversion

Post Thanks / Like

1970 Honda CT90 Electric Conversion

I have a 1970 Honda CT 90 Trail that I've owned since it was new. About the only time I ride it now is to the mail box in summer. Recently my son, who is a motorcycle mechanic, had to rebuild the carb due to a leaking float. It runs like new again.

Being a retired electrical engineer, I've been thinking about converting it to electric for several years. Recently I decided to go ahead with the project and have already made a couple of mistakes. I want to keep the bike looking as original as possible. My first thought was to use a mid mount motor and keep the original rear wheel and chain drive. Due to problems with the chain drive and lack of space for batteries, I decided to go with a hub motor and use the engine space for batteries.