PDA

View Full Version : GSX-EV Wiring Diagram V1

briansterling
11 September 2013, 1142
This is my first attempt at a wiring diagram. I'm still just beginning to understand all the components and their functions so I'm sure it's full of missing components and mistakes. Only thing I'd like to change in the future is to have a 1/2 speed reverse but that's beyond me at the moment. Any input is welcome.

Blogger site: http://gsxev.blogspot.com/

Here's a picture:
http://www.gliffy.com/go/publish/image/4875437/L.png

Here's a link to the interactive page where links are clickable.
CLICK HERE (http://www.gliffy.com/go/publish/4875437)

podolefsky
12 September 2013, 0758
Looking good.

- you need a line from the contactor coil to B-
- put the main fuse as close to the pack as possible, on the other side of the voltage display. You don't want any components between the pack and the main fuse (it's main purpose is to protect the pack from shorts)
- you *might* want to have Alltrax pin 1 connected directly to the 72V side of the 3-way switch. Probably fine either way, I just like the contactor to only switch the main pack and nothing else.
- I strongly recommend having some sort of dedicated kill switch that opens the contactor (by disconnecting power to the coil)

robo
12 September 2013, 1511
Minor detail I think...the pinouts for my 7245 have throttle on 2 & 3 instead of 3 & 4. But, maybe yours is different too.

podolefsky
12 September 2013, 2200
Good catch Rob. Yup, throttle goes to pins 2 & 3. 4 isn't used.

I saw you're planning to use a non-isolated DC/DC converter. That's fine, just make sure you don't connect the negative to the bike frame, or use any of the original wiring if it's grounded to the frame. It's a safety hazard, since that means every metal part of the bike can connect you to high voltage.